South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust

Pupils are published poets

Chetwynde pupils are celebrating becoming published poets after they had their work included in a new anthology.

They submitted poems to the Young Writers poetry board for the ‘Power of Poetry’ competition for 11 to 18 year olds.

Some 26 pupils of the school on Rating Lane, which is part of South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust, had their work on a range of subjects selected for the book from more than 16,000 entries nationwide.

Head of English Emma Lashmar said the brief was to unleash the thoughts, fears and passions of the world the young people live in.

“We are delighted that so many of our young people have had their poems selected to feature in this anthology,” she said. “It will be sent to every library in the UK and we have a copy in the school library for pupils, adults at home and teachers to read.”

The published poets include Anisha Brown, Caitlin Bailey, Scarlett Gibbs, Eva Howson, Oliver Lee, Marla Currie, Sam Fisher, Maisie Kirkby, India Fleming, Charlie Roberts, Rafferty Johnston, Nazim Valiev, Caleb Hartley, Jasmine Nesbitt, Niamh Carruthers, Rodi Bektasoglu, Benjamin Clamp, Nikhil Nair, Chloe Sharp, Maisie Farish, Olivia Chambers, Kian Exley-Johnson, Lily Baker, Emilia Washington, L-Jay Gutkowski and Knox Holden.


South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust
South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust
South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust
c/o Chetwynde School Croslands
Rating Lane, Barrow-in-Furness
Cumbria LA13 0NY

Company number 13414087 registered in England.
Tel: 01229 824 210
South Cumbria Multi-Academy Trust